Town Council try to reappoint school governor dismissed for non-attendance

Pontypridd Town Council met this week and, amongst other things they discussed was the appointment of a town council representative on Coedpenmaen primary school governing body. One candidate was Welsh Lib Dem Town Councillor for Trallwn Amanda Jones, but true to form the ruling Labour group decided they needed to appoint one of their own.

The problem is the person they decided to appoint is none other than Allen Bevan, who had previously been removed from the governing body because he didn't turn up for meetings.

As we reported in July 2014, RCT Cabinet, on the advice of the Education Director, decided to appoint four additional governors to Coedpenmaen school at a cost of £250 each per day. Their reason they said is that the governing body was not providing sufficient support and guidance. The reason, they said, was the high degree of absenteeism amongst governors. Two of the culprits were Labour town councillors – including Mr Bevan whose attendance became even worse until he was removed in November 2016..

(labour town councillor and MPs aide)

Welsh Liberal Democrat County Councillor for Trallwn and Chair of governors at Coedpenmaen Primary, Mike Powell, said

"Had they checked the rules they would have known that a person who has been dismissed cannot be nominated again for at least a year,

"Furthermore, the question should be asked, why did they think it was a good idea to try and return him to a post that had only become vacant because of his dismissal?

"Coedpenmaen, and every other school, deserves to be run by a body of governors who are willing and able to put the time and effort into the role."

    Spread the love
    Team @ AberdareOnline

    Team @ AberdareOnline

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *