Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council is looking for an Independent Member to join our Standards Committee

The Seven Principles of Public Life


The Principles of Public Life apply to anyone who works as a public office-holder. This

includes all those who are elected or appointed to public office, nationally and locally,

and all people appointed to work in the Civil Service, local government, the police,

courts and probation services, non-departmental public bodies (NDPBs), and in the

health, education, social and care services. All public office-holders are both servants

of the public and stewards of public resources. The principles also have application to

all those in other sectors delivering public services.




Holders of public office should act solely in terms of the public interest.


Holders of public office must avoid placing themselves under any obligation to people

or organisations that might try inappropriately to influence them in their work. They

should not act or take decisions in order to gain financial or other material benefits for

themselves, their family, or their friends. They must declare and resolve any interests

and relationships.




Holders of public office must act and take decisions impartially, fairly and on merit,

using the best evidence and without discrimination or bias.




Holders of public office are accountable to the public for their decisions and actions

and must submit themselves to the scrutiny necessary to ensure this.




Holders of public office should act and take decisions in an open and transparent

manner. Information should not be withheld from the public unless there are clear and

lawful reasons for so doing.




Holders of public office should be truthful.




Holders of public office should exhibit these principles in their own behaviour.

They should actively promote and robustly support the principles and be willing to

challenge poor behaviour wherever it occurs.


Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council is seeking to appoint an Independent Member to its Standards Committee.

The Committee comprises of elected members of the Council, a Community Council Member and independent members. The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Committee are elected from the independent members.

The Council has adopted the following criteria for the appointment of independent members:

  • They must be “independent”, as defined by the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001, not be disqualified by those regulations nor by Section 80 of the Local Government Act 1972
  • They must be entitled to be included in the electoral register for Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
  • They must be a respected member of the community within the area served by Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council and have experience relevant to the Standards Committee’s work.

In addition, all applicants must be totally independent of politics.

The appointment will be for a period of six years. An Independent Member is entitled to receive a daily allowance rate of £210 (£105 for ½ day) plus expenses for their attendance at meetings, which is payable in accordance with the Council’s Schedule of Member Remuneration.

Application forms and further details can be obtained from Mr A Wilkins, Monitoring Officer, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, County Borough Council Offices, The Pavilions, Cambrian Park, Clydach Vale CF40 2XX and via e-mail director.legal@rctcbc.gov.uk

Completed application forms should be returned by no later than Friday, 9 September, 2022.  

Posted on 17/08/2022
Spread the love
Team @ AberdareOnline

Team @ AberdareOnline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *