With 59 members of the RCT Labour Group, are the safest political group out of the 22 Local Authorities in Wales

At Rhondda Cynon Taf Council’s 27th Annual General Meeting, which took place on Wednesday, May 26, 2022, Councillor Andrew Morgan (Mountain Ash) was re-elected as Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf Council.

Councillor Maureen Webber (Rhydyfelin Central) was also re-elected as Deputy Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf Council and Cabinet Member for Council Business, as well as the Council’s Armed Forces Champion.

The newly-elected Presiding Officer of Rhondda Cynon Taf Council is Councillor Gareth Hughes (Tonypandy Ward), taking over the role from the Council’s first-ever Presiding Officer, Councillor Steve Powderhill (Treforest Ward), who held the post for four years, including during his year as Mayor of Rhondda Cynon Taf.

Elected as the Council’s two Deputy Presiding Members are Councillor Sheryl Evans (Aberaman) and Councillor Barry Stephens (Llanharry).

The following Cabinet Members were also appointed at the Council’s Annual General Meeting:

  • Councillor Tina Leyshon – Cabinet Member for Corporate Services and Climate Change
  • Councillor Gareth Caple – Cabinet Member for Health and Social Care
  • Councillor Ann Crimmings – Cabinet Member for Environment and Leisure
  • Councillor Bob Harris – Cabinet Member for Public Health and Communities
  • Councillor Mark Norris – Cabinet Member for Development and Prosperity
  • Councillor Rhys Lewis – Cabinet Member for Education and Youth Participation

Councillor Andrew Morgan, Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf Council, said: “Going from being a former Apprentice with the Local Authority to become Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf Council, and also Leader of the Welsh Local Government Association, has only been possible due to the absolute sterling support I have received from my Deputy, Councillor Maureen Webber, over many years, but especially during the last few, challenging years, as this Council has responded to the pandemic, and the severe flooding before that.

“With 59 members of the Labour Group, we are the largest political group in Wales, out of the 22 Local Authorities, and over the coming days, this new administration will set out some of its priorities to take forward.

“As part of our Manifesto, we set out 20 Core Commitments to the public and I intend to announce in the next few weeks some of those Core Commitments being fulfilled and honoured through the decisions of Cabinet funding we will put in place to deliver.

“Looking forward, while the pandemic is hopefully coming to an end, and we must all remain mindful of public health and safety, there is a new emergency looming – and that is the ‘Cost of Living’ crisis.

“Families across our County Borough will struggle financially in the coming year, as will families across the country. It must be a priority of this Council to look at ways of how we support our local families.”

All the above appointments were made during the 27th Annual General Meeting of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, held on Wednesday, May 26, which was broadcast live via the Council Webcast.

Rhondda Cynon Taf Council AGM

Spread the love
Team @ AberdareOnline

Team @ AberdareOnline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *