Cwm Taf celebrate our staff with 40+ years’ service to the NHS

An  ‘Afternoon Tea’ was held on March 15th in Ysbyty Cwm Cynon for staff who have achieved 40+ years’ service to the NHS.  The event saw staff from across the health board get together to celebrate their achievement with family members, friends and colleagues.

Nine hundred and nine years  was the total of NHS service achieved by twenty-two staff who attended this year’s long service event.

The health board has 67 eligible staff who have achieved 40+ years’ service, proving that 1978/79 were popular years for people to join the NHS. If all staff had attended, the number of years of experience in the room would have been a staggering 2,719!

Professor Marcus Longley welcomed everyone to the event and, said: “This is the second long service event I have been privileged to attend as Chair of the health board and it is lovely just talking to people about how things have changed over that period of time.

“It is fantastic to have this opportunity really just to celebrate these forty years of service and for us to thank you on behalf of the health board and more importantly on behalf of the patients that you have served.”

Everyone was presented with a certificate of long service and a gift and had a photograph to add to their album!

Celebrating four decades and more of service, staff mingled to reminisce with colleagues over a cup of tea.

The following staff celebrated their achievement:

  • Kay Barnett – clinical nurse specialist
  • Yvonne Burton – clinical nurse specialist
  • Christine Davies – staff nurse
  • Martin Davies – chief pharmacist for community services
  • Christine Edwards – team manager, integrated sexual and reproductive health
  • Hazel Evans – ward based catering assistant
  • Angela Hughes – healthcare support worker
  • David James – maintenance assistant
  • Patricia James – healthcare support worker
  • Wayne Jenkins – head of business and operational support
  • Adrian Jones – biomedical scientist
  • Pauline Lawrence – medical records clerk
  • Chris Meyrick – computer aided draughting technician (CAD)/project officer
  • Susan Minty – integrated sexual health practitioner
  • Deborah Prince – ward clerk
  • Hilary Russell – operating department practitioner
  • Rosemary Smith – wound clinic nurse
  • Brian Sparks – fire safety officer
  • Heather Sparkes –community podiatry
  • Judith Stevenson – community psychiatric nurse
  • Gaynor Tizard-Lee – sexual health practitioner
  • Timothy Woods – senior assistant technical officer

Chief Executive, Allison Williams, thanked everyone for their continued dedication and loyal service and added that working in the NHS was much more than a job.  “The number of lives you touch, the number of people either directly or indirectly.  It is what gets you up in the morning and you should be very proud of what you have achieved.”

Spread the love
Team @ AberdareOnline

Team @ AberdareOnline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *