Celebrating Success at Cwm Taf Staff Recognition Awards

This year’s Staff Recognition Celebration Event promised to be a fun filled glittering occasion for all who attended and it did not disappoint.

John Palmer, our Director of Primary, Community and Mental Health was the Master of Ceremonies for the evening and he kept the audience entertained with his enthusiasm, wit and charm.

The evening highlighted the many examples of best practice within the health board that have improved the quality and safety of our services, ranging from leadership, improving the patient experience and also our partnership working.

Chief Executive, Allison Williams said: “Tonight is a way of showing the health board’s appreciation for a job well done and publicly recognising the dedication of our staff.

“Not everyone will win an award but each year we celebrate the work of our employees and recognise the work of teams and individuals who have made a particular contribution to the services within Cwm Taf.”

This year, we had an additional award – ‘The Harry Stevens Memorial Award for Best Teacher’ which was introduced in memory of the health board’s former Head of Resuscitation and Clinical Skills, Mr Harry Stevens who sadly passed away in 2016.  Rebecca Stevens, Harry’s daughter, presented the award to winner, Beverly Wilding, HCSW Development Manager.

Here is a list of the other award winners:



Vulnerable Person’s Relocation Scheme


Quality and Improvement

Patient Safety Team


Sustainability and Improvement

Paediatric Respiratory and Allergy Team


Roger Pugh Memorial Award

Chris Poole – Team Leader for Primary Care


Improving the Patient Experience

Occupational Therapy Older Persons Mental Health Team


Health and Wellbeing (at work)

One Small Change – the #feelgreat challenge


Welsh Language

Miss Awen Iorwerth – Consultant in Trauma and Orthopaedics


Patient Choice

Natalie Shek – Specialist Paediatric Occupational Therapist (OT)

Staff of Ward D4, Ysbyty Cwm Rhondda



Cath Granelli – Ward Manager, Mental Health Unit


Cwm Taf Star

Bethan Edwards – Research Occupational Therapist

Gaynor Bull – Specialist Paediatric Physiotherapist

Rhianon Webb – Cellular Pathology Service Manager

Lynda Chipperfield – Medical Laboratory Assistant

Susan Pope – Biomedical Scientist

Tom Chinnick – Senior Biomedical Scientist

Joan Jenkins – Volunteer

Valerie Buller- Hart Failure Nurse Specialist

Shirley Gealy – Bed/Site Manager

Helen Quinn – Nursing Assistant, Child Health

Alyson Thomas – Catering Assistant

Emma Pascoe – HR Advisor


Supportive Colleague

Gavin Heath – Physiotherapy Assistant


Team of the Year

Nursery Children Influenza Pilot Team


Honorary Cwm Taf Star awards were given to Rhian Burke, 2 Wish Upon a Star and to Clare Smart, Giving to Pink for the work they have undertaken with the health board.


This year, Dr Jones, awarded the Chairman’s Award to four members of staff: Bethan Marsh, Clinical Records Modernisation Project Manager, Mr Shakir Mustafa, Consultant Oral and Maxillo-Facial Surgeon, Chris White, Chief Operating Officer/Director of Therapies and Health Science, and Sian Williams, a Staff Nurse in the Emergency Care Centre at Prince Charles Hospital.


We were delighted that Andrew Goodall, Director General, Health and Social Services was able to attend the event and he presented the Non Officer Members, whose term of office expires in the near future, with a certificate of appreciation thanking them for their valuable contribution to the health board.


The Chairman, whose term of office expires in September, was also presented with an award which recognised his leadership, commitment and service to the community and staff of Cwm Taf.


He said: “I have chaired Cwm Taf University Health Board for eight years.


“Throughout this time, it has been a real privilege to work alongside the staff of the health board, each of whom contribute to make this organisation a great place to care and a great place to be cared for.


“As an organisation, Cwm Taf is blessed in having a whole constellation of stars.


“I have been immensely proud to have been the Chairman and thank everyone wherever and whatever they do in this organisation for their dedication and commitment.


“Diolch o galon.”

Spread the love
Team @ AberdareOnline

Team @ AberdareOnline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *