Proposed boundary changes for Cynon Valley



Cynon Valley and Pontypridd (Cwm Cynon a Phontypridd) 15.1 It is proposed that a county constituency is created from: 1. the whole of the existing Cynon Valley CC and County Borough of Rhondda Cynon Taf electoral wards of Aberaman North (3,571), Aberaman South (3,261), Abercynon (4,288), Aberdare East (4,772), Aberdare West/Llwydcoed (7,036), Cilfynydd (1,998), Cwmbach (3,467), Glyncoch (2,039), Hirwaun (3,076), Mountain Ash East (2,086), Mountain Ash West (3,046), Penrhiwceiber (4,013), Pen-y-waun (1,993), Rhigos (1,337) and Ynysybwl (3,422); and,


2. the electoral wards within the existing Pontypridd CC and County Borough of Rhondda Cynon Taf of Church Village (3,469), Graig (1,455), Hawthorn (2,869), Llantwit Fardre (4,593), Pontypridd Town (2,141), Rhondda (3,364), Rhydfelen Central/Ilan (2,924), TonTeg (3,170), Trallwng (2,770) and Treforest (1,845).


15.2 This constituency would have 78,005 electors which is 4.3% above the UKEQ of 74,769 electors per constituency. The suggested name for the constituency is Cynon Valley and Pontypridd. The suggested alternative name is Cwm Cynon a Phontypridd.


15.3 The existing Cynon Valley constituency does not meet the statutory requirements in respect of size of electorate. It is therefore necessary to include in the proposed new constituency a significant number of additional electors from the surrounding constituencies. The eastern electoral wards of the existing Pontypridd constituency are connected to the Cynon Valley via the A470 and A4059 and are a natural continuation of the valleys in this area. The Commission considers that these wards would provide a suitable addition to the proposed constituency in the Cynon Valley and are more appropriate than linking with areas in Powys to the north or across the valleys to either the east or west.


15.4 The proposed constituency would retain the existing Cynon Valley constituency and would then extend south to Pontypridd and the other surrounding electoral wards. The Commission considers that the proposed name would reflect the existing Cynon Valley constituency as well as represent the area that has been combined to achieve the statutory range.


15.5 The remainder of the electoral wards of the existing Pontypridd can be found at pages 47 and 51. on link



Spread the love
Team @ AberdareOnline

Team @ AberdareOnline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *