User menu

South Wales motorcyclists presented with Advanced Rider qualification certificates

South Wales Advanced Motorcyclists (SWAM), a local group in the Institute of Advanced Motorists (IAM RoadSmart), recognised the efforts of associates last week when they were presented with their Advanced Rider qualification certificates. This was in recognition of having passed their advanced riding test and successfully achieving IAM RoadSmart Advanced Rider status.


SWAM Chairman Mike Donovan presented the certificates to associates, who thus became full IAM members, at a members’ evening at St Mary’s Hotel, Pencoed. He congratulated the members and said their achievements were the fruit of many months of hard work. “Achieving Advanced Rider status shows that a motorcyclist has demonstrated how to consistently ride safely and legally to an advanced standard using a system based on Police Motorcycle Roadcraft. This method of roadcraft is based on information, selecting the appropriate speed, gear and road positioning, whilst maintaining full control of the motorcycle.”


Candidates prepare for the tests by undertaking observed riding throughout the South Wales area on a wide range of roads with a fully trained and experienced Observer. They gain valuable feedback and, when ready, undertake the advanced test.


SWAM has a high success rate, with 100% of candidates have passed their tests first time in 2018. Two of the 15 riders receiving certificates gained a first-class pass – Twm Draper of Gilfach Goch and Tony Griffiths of Gwaelod y Garth. Twm, aged 20 when he passed, is the youngest member SWAM has ever had, says Mike Donovan. 

Tony Griffiths 1st Class Pass     20/02/17                                    Cardiff

Mike Auden                             26/03/18                                      Bridgend

Alan Rose                                 19/04/18                                     Pontyclun

Mike Bailey                              22/05/18                                      Pontypridd

Twm Draper 1st Class Pass        24/06/18                                   Gilfach Goch

Andrew Draper                         27/06/18                                     Gilfach Goch

John Yapp                                25/07/18                                     Cardiff

Graham Sparshott                    28/07/18                                    Rhoose

Jason Hall                                 12/09/18                                   Pontypridd

Rob Jones                                 20/09/18                                   Llandough

Colin Bowen                             26/09/18                                   Pencoed

Nigel Dunn                               15/10/18                                  Gilfach Goch        

Terry Morgan                           02/11/18                                   Pencoed